Broken Toyland Newsletter #10 for 2017

Greetings, from Broken Toyland… in a dream where love is real.

I hope this entry finds you well.

The last newsletter was heavy with 2017 Christmas Ornaments. That might be all I’ll do. We shall see. Might do a few more next month or November. Not into it. People asked if / when they’ll be available, so I made a bunch, and now they sit. This happens every single time I get requests lol. So this might be it for now. They’re all in the shop if anyone’s interested.
There was a time when I sold all my ornaments for 35$ each. They’re 30 or 25, now. And the more you get, the better a price I’ll give. Just contact me if you’d like more than 1, and I can pull them out of the shop and invoice you direct, with a discount.

Now, onto the art!

Here’s the 2 new paintings I’ve created since last I posted here:

downfall

Title: Downfall, 16×20, multimedia on canvas. See it in the shop.
What are your demons? What is your downfall? Is it the contents of a bottle? or some other ‘thing’? Perhaps a person? …someone from the past that continues to haunt your life, without mercy. Someone or someTHING you know is bad for you, but you cannot stop desiring? These things can (and do) cloud our judgement. When will we grasp the fact that we don’t need any of those things to become ourselves? To be complete? Even content?

underthenorthstar

Title: Under The North Star, 8×10, multimedia on watercolour paper.
See it in the shop. Lots of closeups, too. This one is framed.

Declaring one’s love under the ever-fixed mark of the north star…
my words will only prove inadequate. Let Shakespeare tell it:

Sonnet CXVI

Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove:
O, no! it is an ever-fixed mark,
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
It is the star to every wandering bark,
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come;
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
If this be error and upon me proved,
I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

anartistshouldalwaysbe

 

In other broken toyland news…
Some updates about the direction of my art. I’m feeling a real pull to go more towards the abstract expressionism end of things. I’ve always dabbled in this, as well as primitive / intuitive styles. I’ve been seriously considering my options, as far as financial things go. Trying to keep my head above water (barely) and keep my artistic integrity… doing what I love, being satisfied with it, and paying my bills, in other words. I don’t want to do something I don’t like and that feels unnatural, just to make a buck. So this seems to be the solution. I’m not going to give up on my traditional Broken Toyland style, but it will start taking a back seat to reality. And that reality is, I cannot rely on a dozen super loyal customers to support me.
Now, about commissions… I’m seriously thinking of not doing them anymore, altogether. I’ve had a couple bad experiences lately and it’s no longer fun. It’s always the same thing, too. A lack of willingness to communicate. Some people have been great, but more than half do not want to participate in the communication process that allows me to get the visuals I need, to create the piece. And I don’t like the stress it creates. Especially feeling like I’m annoying someone if I need more info. So, if you’re wanting a commission, keep in mind that the prices are naturally higher than anything in my shop and the process will often involve you, too. I really don’t want to do them anymore, but might change my mind. So contact me if you want to inquire about one.

That’s it for now.

Bye bye, summer. Hello fall.

sunset09-22-2017

Until next time, take care.

…v

haveagoodday

Leave a Reply

